UAE turns the big 4-0


It was 40 years ago that the British ended their treaty with a group of nine sheikhdoms in the Persian Gulf. And while Qatar and Bahrain would go their own way, the remaining seven sheikhdoms, led by the revered Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan al Nayan, formed the United Arab Emirates. Comprised of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Fujairah, Umm al-Quwain and Ras al-Khaimah, the UAE developed their own constitution, currency and a mission to better the lives of its citizens. And, wow, what a 40 years it has been for this young country!

To commemorate the occasion, the United Arab Emirates celebrated “National Day” with a weekend full of festivities. Megan and I took in some of the sights and sounds from the celebrations. And even though our hearts will always belong to the USA, we couldn’t help but feel a bit of pride for “second home”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *